Comic Books

X-Men The Animated Series Now on Netflix!

After putting my daughter to bed this evening, I sat down to see what crap I could watch on Netflix for the thousandth time. Earlier today I discovered they pulled Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles from the instant queue, which was a huge bummer, as I was in the middle of season 2 for the second time. So, tonight I figured I would just plunk on a movie I’ve seen a thousand times when to my absolute delight, under “New TV Shows”, I spotted the 1992 animated series X-Men. This might not be a huge deal to many of you, but to me it was so exciting that I actually screamed with delight, and jumped up and down in my living room. Catchy cliches such as, “Storm, Mistress of the Elements, commands you to release that child!” and “I go where I wanna go”… all mine?!

Now, I know they released the series on DVD a while back. But having a 2-year-old in a tough economy prevents me from enjoying certain luxuries such as DVDs, especially box sets. Netflix has been a wonderful (and affordable) treat that has completely replaced cable, but quality new releases are hard to come by sometimes. X-Men holds particular significance for me – it marks my introduction into superheroes, and comic books. As a 9-year-old, this cartoon (along with Batman: The Animated Series, and the Tick) not only inspired me to buy the new X-Men comic series (penciled by Jim Lee), but also showed me how awesome strong women are. Rogue, Storm, Jean Grey (Phoenix) and Jubilee were all main characters, but the first season featured a female president – and this was back in 1992 when strong, smart women were often criticized for being successful in a man’s world. As strange as it may sound, X-Men became the reason why nerdy stuff became cool to me, and why it never mattered to me that I was a girl who thought nerdy stuff was cool.

Thank you, Netflix. You may have stolen T:SCC back for your vault, but at least you replaced it with something equally as awesome.

Standard

2 thoughts on “X-Men The Animated Series Now on Netflix!

  1. Nice post! X-Men TAS was also one of my early jumping points into the comic book world, together with Hulk, Fantastic Four, and the rest of the Marvel animated series 😀

    • Thanks! I’m so happy to find another fan of those early Marvel animated programs. I also loved Batman The Animated Series – and it still holds up after all these years!

Leave a Reply

