Harry Potter

First Official Trailer of Deathly Hallows: Part 2!

The wait is over, fans of Potter! Last night, Warner Bros. released the first full length trailer from Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 on ABC Family. You can view the trailer in all it’s HD glory below, and read my take on it as well.

As all of you know, there is little that will deter my excitement for this movie. I mean, it’s the last one so how could I NOT be excited? Harry Potter has had such a huge impact on my life in ways that I won’t reveal to most people, and while it’s sad to see the movie series finally come to an end, I will have the books and the movies to share with my daughter. I can only hope that she will become as obsessed with Harry as I am.

That being said, this trailer is a bit much for me. When it comes to trailers, I am very picky. Granted, it’s probably really hard to make a good trailer especially if post-production isn’t finished – trying to encourage the entire country (sometimes the whole world) to see a movie sounds really difficult to me. But look – it’s been 10 years since Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone came out. We’ve heard all the choirs singing behind epic music. We’ve seen all the magic and all the explosions. We’ve seen confrontations, we’ve seen romance, we’ve seen how evil Voldemort really is. I’m not sure what I was expecting, but this trailer didn’t deliver. All I could pay attention to was the multiple Voldemort screams placed throughout the 2 minute trailer. I mean, the guy has an awesome angry yell, but do we really need to hear it 5 times? To be honest, the same tired “epic” music, plus the screams really turned me off.

However, we did see some very exciting new scenes. If you haven’t read the books, I suggest you stop reading here, as there will be spoilers.

We get a bit longer of a look at Fred’s death scene, with many of the red-haired Weasley’s crowded around his body, the battle between Molly Weasley and Bellatrix Lestrange, and a brief peak into the “Prince’s Tale”, where Harry finally gets to the truth about the loyalties of Severus Snape. We also get a peak at some of the scenes of the final confrontation between Voldemort and Harry Potter. The filmmakers have extended the battle and made some other changes from what is in the book, according to producer David Heyman. At CinemaCon, Heyman describes the backlash of fans when some of their favorite scenes from the books are left out of the movies.

Where [the fans are] harsh is, “You’ve left that out, you left this out.” But we know the reasons behind those decisions. In the third film, for example, we decided to tell the story from Harry’s point of view, and that defined what got left out. There wasn’t much of Hermione’s S.P.E.W., though I love S.P.E.W., there just wasn’t room for it. By making them Harry’s films it created something of a narrative structure, since they’re not organic cinematic narratives, the Harry Potter films. They’re meandering, they go off on these tangents. Inevitably it’s going to be an unconventional structure, but wherever we can impose some sort order on it is important.

Here’s hoping that Heyman, screenwriter Steve Kloves, and director David Yates give Harry, Ron, and Hermione the farewell that they deserve.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 opens in the U.S. and Great Britain on July 15, 2011.

Standard

4 thoughts on “First Official Trailer of Deathly Hallows: Part 2!

Leave a Reply

